Recipient receiving the Queensland Museum Medal

Queensland Museum Medal


Nominations for the Queensland Museum Medal 2023 have now closed. Winners will be announced later this year. 

About the Queensland Museum Medal

The Queensland Museum Medal recognises individuals who have made a major contribution to research, collections, community projects, partnerships and engagement or other work carried out for the benefit of Queensland Museum.

Established in 1987, the Queensland Museum Medal is awarded annually at the discretion of the Board of the Queensland Museum.

Previous medallists include the conservationist Crocodile Hunter Steve Irwin; community ambassador Dr Dennis Campbell; the Elliott family of Australian Age of Dinosaurs Museum; the first Chief Executive Officer of Queensland Rail Mr Vince O’Rourke AM, esteemed land surveyor Mr Bill Kitson and a host of internationally recognised scientists of Queensland Museum, past and present.

Queensland Museum Medallists

2021 Dr Dennis Campbell
2019 Dr Robert Adlard
2018 Dr Robert Raven
2012 Professor Ronald Quinn AM
2011 Dr John Stanisic
2011 Professor Peter Andrews AO
2010 Dr John Hooper
2010 Sir David Attenborough
2009 Mr Michael Quinnell
2009 Dr Carden Wallace
2009 Ms Anne Jones
2008 Mr Vince O’Rourke AM
2008 Dr Steve Van Dyck
2007 Dr Geoff Monteith
2007 Mr Bill Kitson
2006 Mr Bill O’Brien OBE
2006 The Elliott Family
2005 Mr Bruce Campbell
2005 Mrs Rae Sheridan
2005 Mrs Nerolie Withnall
2004 Dr Robert Anderson OAM
2004 Dr Dan Robinson
2004 Dr Lester Cannon
2003 Mr Steve Irwin

2003 Ms Jeanette Covacevich
2000 Dr Alan Bartholomai
2000 Mr Keith McDonald
1999 Mr Ian Venables
1997 Mr John Lyons
1995 Dr Mary Wade
1995 Professor Don Nicklin
1995 Dr Elwyn Hegarty
1993 Dr Robert Paterson
1992 Professor Colin Dobson
1992 Mr Doug Traves OBE
1992 Mr R.I. (Sam) Harrison MBE
1991 Dr Patricia Mather AO
1990 Mr I.G. Morris CMG
1990 Mr J.C.H. Gill, AM MBE
1989 Mr Leonard J. Taylor
1989 Professor J.M. Thomson AM
1988 Dr Valerie Davis
1988 Mr Don Vernon
1988 Mr Terry Tebble
1988 Mr Jack Woods, ISO
1988 Emeritus Prof. Syd Prentice
1988 Mr F.S. Colliver, OBE
1987 Dr Michael Archer


The Queensland Museum Medal (the Medal) recognises those who have made a major contribution to Queensland Museum through activities including, but not limited to, natural and cultural heritage research; collection acquisition, conservation and protection; exhibition and public programming; and community engagement.

Traditionally, the Medal is awarded annually to one nominee, however, this is at the discretion of the Board of the Queensland Museum (the Board). If the quality of nominations received for any one period is deemed by the Board to be incommensurate with the stature and reputation of the Medal, it will not be bestowed.

The Medal is open to all members of the community including staff, volunteers and board members (past and present) of Queensland Museum. Nominees can be individuals, family groups or teams. The Medal cannot be awarded multiple times to the same individual. Nominees do not have to be Australian citizens, however, there is an expectation that their w benefits Queensland Museum, and by extension, Queenslanders. The Medal can be awarded posthumously.

Nominations are assessed on merit attributed to three equally weighted criteria: contribution to Queensland Museum; excellence in their field; impact in the wider community. Contact information for up to three referees with a thorough knowledge of the nominees work performance and conduct are required.

Nominations for the Queensland Museum Medal 2023 have now closed. Winners will be announced later this year.

Yes. Due to the prestigious nature of the Medal the number of nominations received in any one year far exceeds the number awarded. Re-nominating individuals nominated, but unsuccessful, in previous years is encouraged. The Medal cannot be awarded multiple times to the same individual.

Queensland Museum will make a public announcement advising when nominations are open and the nomination period. Applications received outside the nomination period will be accepted at the discretion of the Board.

A working group is convened to conduct a merit-based assessment process. The working group must ensure awardees are representative of the community through age, gender and ethnic diversity. After considering the nominations, the working group recommends a list of proposed recipients to the Board, who have the authority to bestow the Medal.

The design of the Medal varies from year to year. It has included a traditional nickel-silver medal and commissions by Queensland artists and designers. All Medallists receive a framed citation.

Office of the Chief Executive Officer
Queensland Museum
Phone: (07) 3153 7838


You might be interested in